Novel Puts New Spin on Wonderland


The story of Alice in Wonderland is a classic tale from Lewis Carroll and made famous from remakes by Disney and Tim Burton. Putting a new spin on an old tale, Splintered, written by A.G Howard, involves one of Alice’s descendants.

Splintered is told in the perspective of Alice Liddell’s great-great-granddaughter, Alyssa Gardner, who tries to live an ordinary life. At first, she worries about typical girl problems, such as concerns about her crush, going to London with another girl and getting ready for her high school prom. Alyssa has a father who has to play the role of father and mother because her mom is in an insane asylum after having dreams about a dark place called Underland.

Alyssa learns from her mother that her dreams and unusual behavior are a curse brought on by Alice Liddell. Alice had gone to Wonderland, which is now the dark and creepy Underland.

In order to lift the curse and keep her from being classified as insane, Alyssa has no choice but to go to Underland and fix all of the things Alice messed up during her visit. To guide her, she uses Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland story to find out what Alice did and figure out how she can fix it.

The book is just an amazing read. The pacing of every scene keeps the reader on edge, making the book hard to put down. The fact that A. G. Howard uses the Lewis Carroll book as a guide for the protagonist to get through Underland makes Splintered stand out above other remakes.

The world of Underland is reverted back to its original dark twisted fantasy world, with its creatures described as creepy and visually unpleasant to imagine. Amidst the characters creepy descriptions, readers will be able to figure out each character before Alyssa even has to explain who they are. Readers will automatically identify the Cheshire Cat, March Hare, and the Mad Hatter from older Alice In Wonderland stories.

The only character who isn’t described as creepy is a man named Morpheus. Alyssa describes him as quite attractive. It takes a while for the book to reveal who he really is, but when the reader finally discovers his identity, everything they learn about him based on his personality immediately clicks together.

At the enunhingedd of the book, A. G. Howard puts in the first ensnaredchapter of the sequel Unhinged, so readers can jump into the next book and sort of guess where the story will go before they actually read it.

The series will definitely change the way the reader thinks about Alice in Wonderland and all of its remakes. A. G. Howard has a third book coming out called Ensnared, which will be the final book in the trilogy. The book will be out January 2015.

To see more of A. G. Howard’s books, visit her website,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s